Larson believes that we recognize letters in the word, and then use those letters to recognize the word.

Larson’s research proved that teaching word-shape models did not help students recognize words. There are many words that may have the same word-shape, and I feel that it would sort of be a guessing game to recognize words. As I have discovered, I am not very familiar with the rules of spelling and language, and I believe it would be more beneficial for students to learn the rules of spelling. This would make it easier for students to spell and read.

I do not believe that we should teach struggling readers typical eye-movements. First of all, I wouldn’t even know how to teach it to them. I feel that it would be very confusing to students, and I don’t really see how teaching struggling readers typical eye-movements would improve their reading.

