Okay, I’m going to be honest- when I started reading this book I thought it was going to be the most dreadful book I ever read. As I continued to read, however, I got reeled in by the various themes (especially love). I am all for a good romance novel, and as soon as I learned of Katniss and Peeta’s budding romance, it motivated me to keep reading. Another overwhelming theme in the novel is survival. Katniss had to survive on a daily basis before even entering the Hunger Games, so I felt like that game her an advantage in the games. She was skilled with a bow and arrow to hunt and kill prey, she knew which berries and roots were good to eat, she knew how to take care of Peeta, and she was very intelligent about finding hiding places and shelters. The government also played a major role in this novel. The Hunger Games were a “punishment” from the capitol, and the government controlled the game. One of my favorite scenes in the book was after Foxface was killed, they announced there could only be one winner, so Katniss came up with a brilliant plan for them both to eat the poisonous berries and commit suicide. Then, there would be no winner. Although this was a rebellious act, Katniss knew the gamemakers wouldn’t let them go through with this, and they didn’t. Katniss and Peeta were both winners. This scene shows how Katniss used her intelligence and a little rebellion to get what she wanted.

So, why do kids like this trilogy? With the numerous themes found in this book, there’s got to be at least one that is appealing to a child. Also, I enjoyed it because it makes you feel like you are living in a different world, a different time. Children like things that are out of the ordinary.The main reason children like The Hunger Games is because it is well-written literature. Even kids can tell the difference between poorly-written literature and well-written literature.

