People can engage in deep reading with any text that they read, as long as they are digging deep enough into the content. When I read our assigned articles, I am definitely deep reading. I analyze what the text is saying, try to make connections with the text, and reflect on the text after reading. Anytime these various processes are used, a person is deep reading. In order to read deeply, it is important that readers know how to carry out these processes. Readers need to be taught how to infer, deduct, analyze, connect, and reflect, and they need to have mastered these skills. In addition, readers must also be completely focused on what they are reading. One cannot dig into their reading if they are merely skimming the text, or ‘saying’ the printed words on the page. I believe that deep reading is a skill that once you have mastered it, you will not forget it. If a person reads, I honestly do not see how every that time that they read they can NOT be engaging in deep reading. I believe that once you learn to deep read and have practiced it, when you begin to read something, you will go into ‘deep reading’ mode without even thinking.

            After visiting the National Geographic for Kids Creature Feature site, I definitely agree that it is organized and bound by standards. I was really impressed! I read about gray wolves. There was lots of information about gray wolves, but it was written in simple language that children can understand. The information was organized onto different slides/pages that the reader had to change by clicking the arrow key.  I especially liked this format because there was not an overwhelming amount of text on each page. That increases the chances that struggling or unmotivated readers can be successful with this reading assignment. I also enjoyed the video about wolves, the great photographs, and the map that located where wolves were predominantly found. This is an excellent website to use with the science curriculum.

            National Geographic is a very popular magazine for students of all levels. Sometimes schools purchase these types of magazines for their students. In my teaching experience, I have never had the opportunity to teach a National Geographic magazine. I have, however, taught many “Time for Kids” magazines (schools probably purchase these because they are less expensive than National Geographic). It is impossible for the various levels of readers to all read that one text. The on-grade level and above-grade level students have no problem with this, but the struggling and unmotivated readers cannot do this. I was so happy to see that National Geographic has many of their magazines as e-books, so that the reader can read the magazine as it is being read to them. This would certainly help those struggling readers. Students have to stay engaged in the text because they have to click on the volume button for it to read, and the arrow keys for the page to turn. This is a brilliant idea! I wonder if Time for Kids offers some of their magazines as e-books. I am going to look into that.

            As I explored the Mountain Gorilla Creature Feature, I was just as impressed as I was with the Gray Wolves Creature Feature. In fact, I was so impressed that I was that website on my Internet workshop! As I mentioned earlier, I like that the information is written in simplistic language that young children can read and understand, and that the information is divided into short slides/pages that makes the text seem less overwhelming. The photographs and video are wonderful, and it was a great idea to include a map that located where Mountain Gorillas are found. I must reiterate that this is an excellent website for the science curriculum.

            I read the book “You are a Lion” on the We Give Books website. The pages on the screen probably looked better than if I were actually looking in the book!  This organization’s mission is to put books into hands of children to read, either tangible books or digitally. I browsed through the titles of the books they had available (there were so many!!), and I recognized some of the titles. However, I have not been in the classroom to have much experience with children’s literature, so I’m sure some of you recognized most, if not all, of the titles. Putting books in the hands of children is so important because if students don’t have books to read, then how are they going to improve reading? ALL children need to be reading, either tangible books or digital books, and this website allows us the opportunity to help ensure that students have books to read.

            I had not been introduced to any of the Common Core standards yet since they were developed after I graduated. So, thank you for incorporating them in this response and providing me that opportunity. As I glance over the Kindergarten standards, there is nothing that alarms me. I feel that I am completely prepared to use multimedia to teach the curriculum. I especially liked your comment about thinking about when it makes sense to use digital text and when it makes sense to use printed text. Technology is a 21st century skill, but every concept, every book, every strategy, is not always most effectively taught using technology. Some things need to be taught “old school”, and that is perfectly fine. The key is balance; a balance of print and digital texts, a balance of “old school” skills and traditional skills, and a balance of time. If a teacher can provide balanced instruction, along with praise, encouragement, and correction when needed, learning will unquestionably happen in the classroom.

