My Students:  I teach at a very racially diverse school, with 75% of students qualifying for free and reduced meals. This is my first year of teaching, and I am in a Kindergarten classroom. So this year is not only a new chapter in my life, but also in the lives of my students.

My Project:  Since I am a beginning teacher, my classroom library is minimal. My goal is to expand my classroom library with quality literature that is of high-interest for my students from a variety of genres. I hope to get many different levels of text because all students read on different levels. Expanding my classroom library and having different levels of text will ensure that students are reading on their independent reading level, which will aid in enriching vocabulary, enhancing background knowledge, and increasing comprehension, overall reading achievement, and increasing interest and motivation to read.

My Students Need:  A collection of literature in the classroom that is of high-interest, leveled, and covers a variety of topics and genres.  This will allow them to become engrossed in the world of reading, which will help them master reading skills, while exposing them to literature that they may not have available at home.

Sample Titles To Expand My Collection:

How Rocket Learned to Read by Tad Hills

Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin

Back of the Bus by Aaron Reynolds

The Falling Raindrop by Neil Johnson and Joel Chin

 

Seed Soil Sun by Cris Peterson

 

The Dr. Seuss collection

In Arctic Waters by Laura Crawford

National Geographic for Kids

