Girl 1

  1. 1.    What do you usually do after school? Go outside and play with my chalk with my mom On weekends? I spend the night with my Grandma on weekends and we go to the park with my Dad.
  2.  What are your favorite games? Candyland
  3. Do you have pets? If so, what? yes, 5 cats
  4. Do you collect things? If so, what? Yes, little metal animals. I put them on a shelf in my room.
  5. Do you take private lessons (piano, tennis, etc.)? No
  6. What TV programs do you like to watch? SpongeBob
  7. Do you play with computers? If yes, explain. Yes, at home and school. I usually play Chezzle on the computer at home.
  8. Do you like being read to? If so, by whom? Yes, my Grandma
  9.  Do you like to read? If so, what kind of reading? Yes. I like to read books that are longer and bigger. I like to read about cats.

10. Do you have books of your own? If so, about how many? Yes, I have a whole bookcase full, so I think about a hundred.

11. Do you go to the public library? I go to the public library with my Grandma, but we don’t go much.

Girl 2

  1.  What do you usually do after school? I play Barbie by myself and sometimes we go to the park if it’s nice outside. On weekends? We go shopping, go to the park where I play and make new friends, and I play with my dog, Max.
  2. What are your favorite games? Go Fish!, Sorry, Trouble, card games, and checkers
  3.  Do you have pets? If so, what? Yes. A dog named Max.
  4. Do you collect things? If so, what? Yes, rocks
  5. Do you take private lessons (piano, tennis, etc.)? Soccer
  6. What TV programs do you like to watch? My Little Pony and Strawberry Shortcake
  7. Do you play with computers? If yes, explain. Yes, I play Nick Jr and Wings Club
  8. Do you like being read to? If so, by whom? Yes, my mommy and daddy
  9. Do you like to read? If so, what kind of reading? Yes, I like to read My Little Pony and Veggie Tales Books
  10. Do you have books of your own? If so, about how many? Yes, I think 16.
  11. Do you go to the public library? I have only been there one time. I got a piggy book.

Girl 3

  1.  What do you usually do after school? Play outside with my brothers and sisters (ride our bikes or play with my ball), Duck-Duck-Goose. On weekends? I have to do chores and then I play outside.
  2.   What are your favorite games? Patty Cake, Hide-and-Seek, Duck-Duck-Goose, Candy land
  3.   Do you have pets? If so, what? Yes, 4 cats
  4. Do you collect things? If so, what? Yes, rocks
  5. Do you take private lessons (piano, tennis, etc.)? No
  6.  What TV programs do you like to watch? iCarly, Hannah Montana, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse
  7.   Do you play with computers? If yes, explain. Yes, I try to make pictures.
  8.  Do you like being read to? If so, by whom? Yes, my sisters
  9.  Do you like to read? If so, what kind of reading? Yes, it’s fun! (smiling) Princess books like Cinderella, Belle, and Snow White.
  10. Do you have books of your own? If so, about how many? Yes, I don’t know, but I have a lot.
  11. Do you go to the public library? No

Boy 1

  1. What do you usually do after school? Homework, play soccer with my friend Trae or my brothers and sisters. On weekends? On the weekends, I play with my legos.
  2. What are your favorite games? soccer, wrestling
  3. Do you have pets? If so, what? Yes. turtle, snake, fish, cat, dog, 2 ducks, chickens.
  4. Do you collect things? If so, what? No
  5. Do you take private lessons (piano, tennis, etc.)? soccer
  6. What TV programs do you like to watch? Benton
  7. Do you play with computers? If yes, explain. Not much
  8. Do you like being read to? If so, by whom? Yes, my mom
  9. Do you like to read? If so, what kind of reading? Yes, Franklin stories, Little Bear
  10. Do you have books of your own? If so, about how many? Yes, I haven’t counted them.
  11. Do you go to the public library? No

Boy 2

  1.  What do you usually do after school? Go to swimming lessons, take a nap, I play with my toys inside and sometimes I go outside to play. On weekends? I play soccer on my first day off, and the second day I play with my toys or go outside.
  2. What are your favorite games? Mouse trap
  3. Do you have pets? If so, what? No
  4.  Do you collect things? If so, what? interesting-looking rocks
  5. Do you take private lessons (piano, tennis, etc.)? No
  6. What TV programs do you like to watch? My movies, like Shrek
  7. Do you play with computers? If yes, explain. Very rarely I play a computer game.
  8. Do you like being read to? If so, by whom? Yes, my mom
  9. Do you like to read? If so, what kind of reading? Yes. I like to read all books. Chapter books, too.
  10.  Do you have books of your own? If so, about how many? Yes, A LOT!!
  11.  Do you go to the public library? Yes, my mom takes me there, but I mostly read books from the school library.

Boy 3

  1. What do you usually do after school? I play with my baby brother, watch TV, and eat. On weekends? On the weekend, I do the same thing. I play with my baby brother, watch TV, and eat.
  2. What are your favorite games? Mario, the skateboard game
  3. Do you have pets? If so, what? Yes, a dog
  4. Do you collect things? If so, what? No
  5. Do you take private lessons (piano, tennis, etc.)? Lessons for playing the piano, trumpet, and trombone.
  6. What TV programs do you like to watch? SpongeBob
  7. Do you play with computers? If yes, explain. Yes, I play Genie
  8. Do you like being read to? If so, by whom? Yes, my mom
  9.  Do you like to read? If so, what kind of reading? Yes, Toy Story
  10. Do you have books of your own? If so, about how many? Yes, I have a lot of them. I’m not sure. I didn’t count them.
  11. Do you go to the public library? Yes, I take my old books there and get new books.

Discussion

I administered this inventory to 25% of my classroom, of which 50 % were boys and 50% were girls. I chose six students who were good readers, and who I felt were reading at home, in addition to school. That way, these students may have had a wider range of text exposed to them. As I assumed, the students were family-oriented. Many mentioned playing with siblings and enjoying listening to stories read by a parent or another relative. Rocks seem to be a popular collection item, and many students enjoy watching Spongebob on television. As far as reading goes, all students reported that they like to read. There was much range in what students enjoyed reading- fairy tales, non-fiction, and fiction. I was very surprised to find out that two students have never been to the public library. That tells me, as a teacher, that our school and classroom libraries need to offer a wide range of quality texts because this may be the only place students get books.

Our classroom library is made up of all fiction (that I can tell), and the books definitely need to be updated. Our students can find Dr. Seuss, The Berenstein Bears, and Froggy books, but I’ve never seen any Franklin, Little Bear, Veggie Tales, or My Little Pony. I’ve never even seen any fairy tales. So, we definitely need to invest in some new books that the students are interested in and are more up-to-date, and we need to get some non-fiction books. One of the girls mentioned that she liked reading about cats, so we could get some books about cats and other animals. Animal books are usually a hit! Having more books available for students to read that they are interested in will motivate them to read.

 

